Synoptic Project Pitch

  • WII 4. Be able to work effectively to an industry Brief​
  • PM 1 Understand pre and post production processes ​
  • PM 2 Plan the provision of requirements for a specific production ​
  • PM 3 Be able to co-ordinate a production process ​
  • PM 5 Know how to organise and schedule post production activities​
    SP 3 Be able to use traditional and digital techniques to produce a storyboard ​
  • SP 4 Be able to present a story/playboard to an audience

Game Pitch

For my synoptic project, I had to come up with and pitch an idea to the rest of the class, to decide which projects would be worked on for the synoptic project. My idea was a teenage rebellion game, similar to Jet Set Radio, where you had to cause mischief in a small town you lived in. The game would be points based, with different acts of mischief equaling a different amount of points, and the goal would be to cause as much mayhem in your town as possible before time ran out. The setting for the game is a small town that the player lives in, making it an easily realizable place to build a game. I tried to keep scope in mind when coming up with my idea, only having one area i wanted to set the game in, with the player having a couple different mechanics to cause mischief and rack up a high score.

Temple Trouble

Before this, i did have an idea where you play as an adventurer who has stolen an ancient artifact from a temple, tying into the mischief aspect of the brief. Stealing this artifact has awoken the temple guardians, which are preventing your escape. The aim of the game is to sneak past these guards using stealth and noise to distract them to leave the temple with your stolen goods. Initially i liked this idea, as I liked the stealth aspects and the setting. However, I decided to rethink the brief and create a new idea that incorporated more mischief aspects.

With my pitch, I feel like I was more broad then i wished to be, not having many concrete design or world ideas. Personally, I feel like my pitch is fine, but it could be improved with more refined ideas. The basis of the game is good, but figuring out the finer details of the pitch would help sell it. Another good factor about my pitch is I feel is is a realisable idea within the 4 month time frame, with plenty more that could be added for stretch goals.

Synoptic Project – Pitch choice and groups

After pitching my idea to my peers and seeing their ideas, we have been placed into groups. While initially i did not choose my own pitch, Matt thought it was a strong pitch and placed me onto the project as a UI, UX, level and game designer with a focus on Unity work. I am paired with Sam and Callum as 3D modellers, with Ben and Luke as programmers. The pitch itself isn’t one of our original ideas however, as Matt has tasked us with a combination of both my pitch and Ben’s pitch. He thought our ideas were strong and would compliment each other. So, as a group our first task is to redefine our idea under these new guidelines set out by Matt.

Leave a comment